Becoming a Police Officer in New Mexico
The minimum age to become a police officer in New Mexico is 21 years old by the time you graduate from the state’s Basic Law Enforcement Training Academy in Santa Fe.
Training at the academy will be rigorous, involving academics and physical fitness standards that all candidates must meet. After graduating, candidates will have up to two years to find a job in New Mexico law enforcement.
Requirements & Qualifications
New Mexico statutes list a number of requirements and disqualifying factors for potential police officers in the state. A good site to begin looking for certification as a police officer in the state is http://nmlea.dps.state.nm.us. Click the tab on the left for Basic Training Bureau. That will take you to a page names and phone numbers of Bureau officials who can help you get started in becoming a police officer in the state.
They will tell you that, among other things, you have to be a U.S. citizen and have a valid driver’s license and have completed 60 hours of college credit or have three years of military experience. These are qualifications you must meet. There are other factors, however, that will disqualify you from becoming a law enforcement officer in the state.
Among these are misdemeanor convictions. If you have any in the last three years before applying, you will not be allowed to apply until three years have passed. Felony convictions, on the other hand, will completely disqualify you.
In addition, you must not have used any illegal drugs of marijuana within the last three years before applying. You may not have any conviction on your record for any domestic violence act. That’s because federal law prohibits individuals with domestic violence convictions from carrying a handgun, and you can’t become a police officer without being able to legally carry firearms.
Any Driving While Intoxicated conviction within five years from applying is a disqualifying factor, whether civilian or military, or multiple DWIs within 10 years. Any noticeable pattern of driving offenses within three years of applying, even stop sign or red light violations, could result in disqualification.
Extensive Background Check
New Mexico will conduct a background check to uncover any of the above disqualifying factors, but also to look into your employment and financial history. Applicants may not have a history of unsatisfactory employment or chronic recurring financial problems. New Mexico will deem these to be an indication of unwillingness or inability to live within financial means.
Physical Fitness Test Standards
For physical fitness requirements, expect to be tested in push-ups, sit-ups, sit and reach, a 1.5 mile run and a 300 meter run. Standards to be met are based on age and gender. For 21 year old males, expect to do 33 push-ups in one minute, 26 for females.
Sit-ups for that age are 40 and 35 respectively in one minute. Sit and reach to measure flexibility for 21 year olds is 17.5 inches for men, and 20 inches for women. Men have to complete the 1.5 mile run in 12:28 and woman in 14:45, and the 300-meter run in 56 seconds and 64 seconds respectively.
Average Police Officer Salary in New Mexico
According to the Bureau Of Labor Statistics (2010), a police officer in the state of North Mexico makes between $43,400 – $48,120 per year. However the data collected by BLS is not very accurate because it does not record overtime pay or off duty work assignments. These two factors, if included in the data, would increase the average salary of a police officer in NM.
Police Officer Jobs in NM
There are several law enforcement job openings in New Mexico. Simply visit our Career Job Opening or go to the official website of the agency you are interested in to complete an application of employment. Below is a list of all the law enforcement agencies in the state of New Mexico.